Center for History and Culture Annual Book Prize Winners


The Center for History and Culture is pleased to announce the inaugural Book Prize winners for the best book related to the history, culture, or creative activities of Southeast Texas and the Upper Gulf Coast.

The purpose of the prize is to promote scholarship, knowledge, and writing about the region.

Book Prize Winners

History Category


Ellen Riesntra and Jo Ann Stiles
The Long Shadow: The Lutcher-Stark Lumber Dynasty

Creative Category

Single in Southeast Texas

Gretchen Johnson
Single in Southeast Texas


Prizes will be awarded at a reception for the winning authors on March 26, 2018, 5 p.m., 8th floor of the Mary and John Gray Library.

Immediately afterwards, a panel on "Beaumont and Southeast Texas Fiction" will be held, followed by book signings by the authors and participants.