Patricia Averbach Wins Two Silver Royal Palm Literary Awards

Writers Helping Writers”

Contact: Chris Coward

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

FWA Website:




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE. OCT. 22, 2020. The Florida Writers Association, Inc., (FWA) has announced that Patricia Averbach of Shaker Heights, OH won a prestigious Royal Palm Literary Award (RPLA). Averbach’s winning entry, Resurrecting Rain, won Silver awards for Literary Fiction and for Women’s Fiction.

The award was announced at FWA’s recent remote four-day annual conference. This annual competition, which received 549 submissions, was RPLA’s nineteenth.

This is the most competitive RPLA we’ve ever had,” said Chris Coward, RPLA chairperson. “The RPLA administrative team, judges, and entrants did an amazing job.”

In all, the competition covered 28 adult genres and 5 Youth genres, with published and unpublished entries considered separately. The four grand awards went to The Orphan of Pitigliano by Marina Brown; Boomerang by Susan Dobson; Gabriel Goes Up by Amy Nicolai; and "Blue and Black" by Jacqueline Cook.

A win at any level can help any writer market their manuscript or published book, and the detailed feedback from the judges is invaluable for all entrants,” Ms. Coward said.

The Florida Writers Association, 1,800 members strong and growing, is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) organization that supports the state’s established and emerging writers. Membership is open to the public.

The Royal Palm Literary Awards competition is a service of the Florida Writers Association established to recognize excellence in its members’ published and unpublished works while providing objective and constructive written assessments for all entrants.

For additional information, visit the FWA website: